The Fear is Out

Summary: Be brave. Be specific. One task one time.

Next Step: Close all the blogs we’re reading now, eat lunch, read the article on writing research papers, find research articles, including other review articles, read the papers, paraphrase important remarks, respond to Prof.’s email, create a meatier outline, call the young one (check on how things are going), write a thesis statement, call the tall one (to wish a happy b-day), and then write a draft, stop at 10:30 PM, and sleep by 11:00 PM. And then wake up by 7:05 (giving me 8 hours of rest) AM, so I can eat breakfast, leave the house by 7:20 to catch the 7:32 train.

Explication:

Dear Me,

I think I will rename this blog, “Dear Me, Please focus on things, make and follow to do lists, be brave. I will otherwise keep regurgitating the same information in different forms, your life won’t get more interesting, and you’ll be depressed and do antisocial things all the time. Thanks.

Love, Me

I am afraid of doing anything challenging. I like challenges, but I make them harder than they are. To avoid these challenges, I am vague with my goals, and switch constantly back and forth. Then I feel like I’m doing a lot, when I’m actually not. In the long wrong, this leads to anger, jealously, etc. All because of the first fear, and the unwillingness to commit. Let’s close all the blogs we’re reading now, eat lunch, read the article on writing research papers, find research articles, including other review articles, read the papers, paraphrase important remarks, respond to Prof.’s email, create a meatier outline, call the young one (check on how things are going), write a thesis statement, call the tall one (to wish a happy b-day), and then write a draft, stop at 10:30 PM, and sleep by 11:00 PM. And then wake up by 7:05 (giving me 8 hours of rest) AM, so I can eat breakfast, leave the house by 7:20 to catch the 7:32 train. Wow, I think this was an awesome plan. Life just became better already when time seems limited, in a sense.

update 06-27-12: Dear Younger Self. You were right. One way to be even more correct is to do things with conviction. Sometimes I’m afraid of making any commitments because I think by doing this, I’m committing forever. Yes and no. It’s better to go in with the attitude that this is for the long haul so that you actual commit enough to actually see how it plays out. But, instead of being scared and afraid of settling, view as a way if it doesn’t work out (but you shouldn’t go into the project with that mindset), you’ve eliminated something that you don’t want to do. Also, action speaks much louder than words. These past couple of months have been wonderful. See 06-28-12 update for more details.

About ivtravels

I like questions, dreaming, doing things, and trying new experiences. Ask me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

