02-20-11

Summary: Focus –> Good Life

There’s an elegant and simple art piece in the Museum of Contemporary Art.It’s a large white circular aluminum piece that seems to float against the wall. In reality, it’s fixed to the wall with a piece in the center.

I like it because it seems unadorned and unfinished. Yet, this piece is complete. On Tuesdays, I’ll stop by and stand in front of it to meditate. However, I can’t. I always sense a strange panic and unsettling feeling.

There’s a war going on inside of me. It’s the battle of focus vs. distraction. Distraction is the monster who has to open up 5 tabs because I’m impatient that one won’t load fast enough. Distraction exemplifies instant gratification and narcissism. In the long run, distraction breeds envy, meanness, and power-hunger. Distraction’s inverse also holds true: focus leads to a fulfilling and prolific life.

I’ve brooded sufficiently on this topic of distraction and focus. I think it’s time to act upon it.

Self-control leads to the good life.

About ivtravels

I like questions, dreaming, doing things, and trying new experiences. Ask me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

