Note to Self (On Improvement, Writing)

I’m sorting and discarding old papers and journal from middle school and beyond. Lots of good encouragement from teachers of those years. I kept a lot of journals too. I wondered though, my writing has never been stellar. Good. But not great. I was cleaning with my mom and said out loud, “I kept so many journals yet my writing has been ok.” In response, she noted, “You should read more good books.” Indeed. What an astute observation. Darn it. Why is my mom so darn smart? The only way to improve is to know what good is. That means reading the well written prose, or looking at good art, or good architecture, or IKEA magazines, or etc. Want to go from good to great? Study greatness. Surround yourself (book wise)/otherwise. Imitate it.

About ivtravels

I like questions, dreaming, doing things, and trying new experiences. Ask me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

