note to self (on wasted time, discipline, and focus)

It’s funny how epiphanies arise at the least expected hour. However, they do always arise in moments of stillness, and focus.

The other day I was reading through the Bible for some practical guidelines for living as Christ-follower. 1 Timothy did a nice job at summarizing these ideas. For me, the overall message was 1) obey His commandments and 2) love your neighbors. I have trouble loving some people, but 1 Corinthians gives the classic passage on love: “Love is patient, love is kind. it does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud…” (1 Corinthians 13).

Last night as I was falling asleep, God helped me realize that “what wasted time I had spent on things that go against his commandments” For example, I having been thinking about some of the friendships I’ve developed in certain areas of my life a year ago. Some of these people are people I don’t even talk to anymore. Now I think back, and I think my situation paralleled tangentially to Lot’s situation. He decided to go to Sodom and Gomorrah and he became a person of stature there. However, it was at the cost of his soul, as especially evident by the fact that his daughters soaked up the filth of that region and committed some infamous acts. I think of the time and money wasted to going night clubs, and drinks. At the time, I too wanted to be worldly etc. I certainly learned a lot, but I think I should have cultivated some other types of friendships (e.g. attending a small group, or attending church more often, etc.) In other words, I know I have been tainted by this world.

I discussed the benefits of milit. service and the values inculcated there. However, the only reason I would want to participate in such a venture would be for a) the discipline, and b) being shape. These are two factors that I can work on independently of giving up my life and mind to this area.

And these ideas only come by when I focus. So I’m going to draw every night before I got to bed to develop focus.

Hard work is well, it’s good as is discipline, but don’t let your mouth show what your mind is speaking. Knowledge is very valuable, but don’t talk aloud about how it’s hard work etc. Just do it. And with a cheerful heart.

About ivtravels

I like questions, dreaming, doing things, and trying new experiences. Ask me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

